State Watch
Who allows 400-lb APU exemptions?

By Keith Goble
state legislative editor


Four out of every five states permit truckers to exceed the 80,000-pound weight limit to accommodate an auxiliary power unit.

Twenty-two states have adopted 400-pound exemptions. They are Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Indiana, Kansas, Maine, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia and Wisconsin.

There are 19 states that do not have a law in place. However, there are enforcement policies that allow the extra weight. These states are Arkansas, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Mississippi, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Vermont and Wyoming.

Another nine states have yet to authorize the weight exemption. They are California, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Kentucky, Massachusetts, North Carolina, Rhode Island and Tennessee.

Source: The U.S. Department of Energy