2004 Special Reports Archive
December

Wednesday, December 01, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Pike strike takes a hike - toll takers are back

Monday, December 13, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Men’s Health mag to truckers -- Offer your driving savvy to four-wheelers

Wednesday, December 22, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Truckload of nickels, driver missing; FBI seeks information

Thursday, December 23, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Hazmat background checks: Oregon will use third party contractor

Wednesday, December 29, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA calls on TSA to protect truckers’ privacy

Thursday, December 30, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Norfolk bomb scare was a hoax

November

Tuesday, November 09, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Illinois Senate votes to override veto, end split speed limit

Tuesday, November 16, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Illinois House reverses course, upholds veto; split speeds to stay

Wednesday, November 24, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Giant spending bill avoids last minute snafu; lawmakers head home for turkey

Wednesday, November 24, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: TSA delays fingerprinting for some hazmat drivers - again

October

Monday, October 11, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Ohio reveals plan to lure trucks to turnpike

Tuesday, October 12, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: President Bush and Sen. Kerry on trucking issues

Wednesday, October 27, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Transportation-related initiatives on November ballots

September

Wednesday, September 01, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA’s case against Ledar in hands of judge

Wednesday, September 15, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Gulf Coast braces for ‘Ivan the Terrible’

Friday, September 17, 2004
LL EXCLUSIVE: Kidnapped girl found thanks to trucker’s tip

Friday, September 17, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Amendment would require Mexican trucks to meet U.S. safety standards

Wednesday, September 22, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Huge House majority OKs Olver amendment

Friday, September 24, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: The Olver Amendment – what’s next on the Hill?

August

Monday, August 02, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Terrorist Alert in New Jersey, New York and Washington, DC; trucks restricted

Thursday, August 05, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Court resolves issues in OOIDA’s favor in lawsuit against Swift

Friday, August 06, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: California official wants feds to require truck stoppers after latest effort to require them fails

Friday, August 27, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Illinois proposes dramatic increase in truck rates on Tollway

Monday, August 30, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: FMCSA asks to leave current HOS in effect while agency corrects courts’ concerns

July

Thursday, July 01, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Trucker strike continues

Friday, July 02, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: FMCSA links high driver turnover rate to crash incidents

Friday, July 02, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Issue of tolling interstates gathering steam

Thursday, July 08, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA files class action complaint against DAC

Thursday, July 15, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Federal judge rules against C.R. England in OOIDA case

Friday, July 16, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: U.S. District Court chucks FMCSA’s HOS rules: Says they are ‘arbitrary and capricious’

Friday, July 16, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: U.S. Appeals Court chucks FMCSA’s HOS rules; says drivers’ health the deciding factor

Tuesday, July 20, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: TSA asks truckers to keep watch as political conventions - and potential terrorist threats - approach

June

Wednesday, June 02, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Tanker trucks and gas canisters stolen in Texas

Wednesday, June 02, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: June Safety Month - It has taken on an entirely new meaning for ‘Uglypuppy’

Thursday, June 03, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Idling reduction - They’re finally getting serious ... and real

Friday, June 04, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Final transportation bill conferees named - effort to defeat Section 1609 begins

Tuesday, June 08, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Supreme Court on Mexican trucks - come on in

Wednesday, June 23, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Now is the time to be heard on toll roads

Friday, June 25, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Effort at nation’s ports to center on adequate surcharge

Friday, June 25, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: State road funding - Where will it come from?

Monday, June 28, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Trucker strikes under way at U.S. ports

Tuesday, June 29, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Truckers strike at several ports; action likely to last through holiday weekend

Wednesday, June 30, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Trucker strike continues - latest action seen in Savannah

May

Tuesday, May 04, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Truckers protest at Oakland port

Tuesday, May 04, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: California facing possible fuel crisis after pipeline rupture

Tuesday, May 04, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Trucking protest centers on Oakland port

Thursday, May 06, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Strike update - Deal thwarted in California; protests begin in Virginia

Friday, May 07, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Watching the clock - How have the new HOS rules impacted expediting?

Friday, May 07, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Port protests planned throughout East Coast and Louisiana

Monday, May 10, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Situation still iffy at Port of Oakland

Tuesday, May 18, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: California drivers protest in Concord

Friday, May 21, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Senate names transportation bill conferees - effort begins to defeat Section 1609

April

Thursday, April 01, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA influences rules on carrier safety reviews

Friday, April 02, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA mobilizes members to help pass Kennedy amendment

Friday, April 09, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Appeals Court upholds OOIDA position on workers’ comp issue in case against New Prime Inc.

Monday, April 12, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Six others missing from kidnapped trucker’s convoy in Iraq

Wednesday, April 14, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Halliburton issues statement on Iraq situation

Wednesday, April 14, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Four bodies found near site of ambush in Iraq

Friday, April 16, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Truckers make headway in four major OOIDA lawsuits

Tuesday, April 20, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: The Bozo retires; hands down popular late-night radio show to son

Tuesday, April 20, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Three truckers confirmed dead in Iraq; missing workers named

Friday, April 23, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Authorities continue hunt for missing tank trailer

Friday, April 23, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Owner-operator online Cost of Operations Survey

Thursday, April 29, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Officials searching for missing chemicals, tank trailer

Thursday, April 29, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Another trucker confirmed dead in Iraq, three still missing

Friday, April 30, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA calls for immediate legislative remedy for fuel price spikes

Friday, April 30, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Trucker protest spreads to CA depots, interstates and ports

March

Monday, March 01, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Bush signs two-month highway bill extension - Mineta urges action

Friday, March 05, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Illinois Senate OKs measure to end split speeds

Tuesday, March 09, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: The 21st century truck stop - burger, fries, coke and fingerprints

Thursday, March 11, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: TSA extends fingerprint deadline for hazmat drivers

Friday, March 12, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: A glimpse at the FMCSA of the future

Wednesday, March 17, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: California trucker an example of effect of high fuel costs

Wednesday, March 17, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Columbus shooting suspect in police custody

Friday, March 19, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Legislators challenge FMCSA’s new HOS rules

Monday, March 22, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: This time, they’re going to test

Thursday, March 25, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Boozman HOS amendment delayed

Monday, March 29, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA - Expand roads, not taxes

Wednesday, March 31, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Truckers Voice Support For Kennedy’s Amendment on Interstate Tolls

February

Thursday, February 05, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Rep. Young to Bush - advisers giving bum advice on highway veto

Monday, February 09, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Legislators TEA’d off as highway funding scraps continue

Friday, February 13, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Senate OKs highway bill by veto-proof margin

Wednesday, February 18, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Court rules in favor of OOIDA against AAFAB Inc., orders return of escrow funds

Friday, February 20, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Issue No. 1 - Inadequate truck parking

Wednesday, February 25, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA to Congress - nix tolls on interstate highways

January

Wednesday, January 07, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Threat level remains at orange

Tuesday, January 13, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Court upholds four-year statute of limitations on OOIDA claims against Ledar Transport; strikes down carrier counterclaims

Friday, January 16, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Owner-operators will get their day in court, says Utah judge

Friday, January 16, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Proposed toll increase could drive truckers off Pennsylvania’s turnpike

Tuesday, January 27, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: FMCSA investigating Swift Transportation

Wednesday, January 28, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Swift confirms FMCSA’s HOS investigation

Friday, January 30, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: Broker pleads guilty to defrauding OOIDA members

Friday, January 30, 2004
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA Calls for Higher Broker Bond

July Digital Edition