2007 Special Reports Archive
December

Wednesday, December 05, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA says Mexican truck stats don’t add up

Wednesday, December 05, 2007
LAWSUIT UPDATE: OOIDA asks FMCSA to pull carrier’s authority

Thursday, December 06, 2007
TELETHON UPDATE: OOIDA effort bringing out the best in truckers

Thursday, December 06, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Trucker to testify at Senate HOS hearing

Friday, December 07, 2007
TELETHON UPDATE: Truckers’ response far exceeds goals

Monday, December 10, 2007
TELETHON UPDATE: Truckers hit homerun with donations for troops

Tuesday, December 11, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: HOS to stay the same, for now

Wednesday, December 12, 2007
TELETHON UPDATE: Truckers’ donations for troops just keep coming

Thursday, December 13, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: FHWA stalls PA tolling application for I-80

Monday, December 17, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Spending bill would block funds for Mexican trucks

Tuesday, December 18, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Comments on HOS due by Feb. 15

Wednesday, December 19, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Mexican truckers planning to block border

Wednesday, December 19, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Interim HOS rule already challenged in court

Wednesday, December 26, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Feds propose 44 hours of behind-the-wheel training

Wednesday, December 26, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Cross-border program funding cut

Thursday, December 27, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Cross-border program continues despite funding cut

November

Friday, November 02, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Drug testing needs improvement, not clearinghouse

Friday, November 02, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Pennsylvania goes public with I-80 lease

Wednesday, November 07, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Election Day results from across the nation

Friday, November 09, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: New Ontario official picks up push for speed limiters

Thursday, November 15, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Will there be a ‘California’ engine?

Friday, November 16, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: House OKs bill to nix cross-border program funding

Wednesday, November 21, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: DOT response on cross-border program no surprise

Wednesday, November 21, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Plaintiffs say hot fuel lawsuits should go to trial

Wednesday, November 28, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Interim hours-of-service reg coming soon

October

Monday, October 01, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: FMCSA has three months to fix HOS

Monday, October 01, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Illinois lawmakers considering uniform speed bill

Wednesday, October 03, 2007
BULLETIN: Illinois Senate bucks uniform speed veto; House votes soon

Wednesday, October 03, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Court gives FMCSA 90 days to sort out HOS regs

Wednesday, October 03, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA cross-border legal challenge advances

Friday, October 05, 2007
INSIDE SCOOP: What the heck is this ‘appropriations’ process?

Wednesday, October 10, 2007
BULLETIN: Veto override vote could come today in Illinois

Wednesday, October 10, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Illinois House fails to override uniform speed veto

Friday, October 12, 2007
BULLETIN: PennDOT, Turnpike Authority press ahead on I-80 tolls

Monday, October 15, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: U.S. rep blasts PA turnpike chief for I-80 toll rhetoric

Tuesday, October 16, 2007
BULLETIN: Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission to control I-80

Wednesday, October 17, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: DOT inspection of Mexican truck a ‘diversion’

Wednesday, October 17, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA questions ethics of Pennsylvania I-80 lease

Thursday, October 18, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: DOT inspection of Mexican truck fails to impress

Friday, October 19, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: U.S. reps join Canadian speed limiter fray

Friday, October 19, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Lawmakers comment on I-80 lease timing

Tuesday, October 23, 2007
BULLETIN: Pennsylvania plan to toll I-80 faces uphill climb

Friday, October 26, 2007
BULLETIN: Truckers say I-80 tolls will harm Pennsylvania economy

Wednesday, October 31, 2007
BULLETIN: Johnston calls on membership to fight cross-border provision

September

Tuesday, September 04, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Court denies groups’ request to halt Mexican trucks

Thursday, September 06, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Truckers, reps urge Senate to stop pilot program

Friday, September 07, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Cross-border trucking a go; OOIDA files

Monday, September 10, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA asks court to reconsider HOS opinion

Monday, September 10, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Cross-border program funding in jeopardy in Senate

Wednesday, September 12, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Senate yanks funding from cross-border program

Wednesday, September 12, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Truckers swarm for loads during bees&rsuqo; absence

Thursday, September 13, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Not just yet; court challenges delay HOS changes

Friday, September 14, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Enforcing English proficiency? What about Florida?

Friday, September 21, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA cross-border lawsuit continues

Wednesday, September 26, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: FMCSA wants to keep current HOS for 12 months

Wednesday, September 26, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: No resolution for produce haulers

August

Thursday, August 02, 2007
ANALYSIS: Single State Registration System resurrected

Friday, August 03, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Missouri senator files bill to stop ‘hot fuel’

Monday, August 06, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA supports bill to stop ‘hot fuel’

Tuesday, August 07, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: No changes yet; HOS regs in hands of FMCSA

Friday, August 10, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Missouri lawmaker pleads guilty to trucker visa fraud

Friday, August 10, 2007
IN DEPTH: New regs in California raise questions about APUs

Tuesday, August 14, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Feds OK tolls for I-73 in South Carolina

Thursday, August 16, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Mexico plans to send trucks across border this month

Friday, August 17, 2007
BREAKING NEWS: FMCSA proceeding with cross-border plan

Tuesday, August 21, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: OIG says cross-border program still needs work

Tuesday, August 21, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Illinois governor nixes bid to end split speed limit

Wednesday, August 29, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Some say border to open to Mexican trucks Saturday

Thursday, August 30, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Trucks could roll north as soon as next week

Thursday, August 30, 2007
LL EXCLUSIVE: CARB’s leader talks about emissions, Arnold

Friday, August 31, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Mexico opens its border to U.S. trucks

Friday, August 31, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA fighting ‘unique and historic battle’

Friday, August 31, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Teamsters to DOT: Trust you? You kiddin’ me?

July

Tuesday, July 03, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Lawmakers call for halt to Mexican pilot program

Tuesday, July 03, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Members of Congress turn up heat on ‘hot fuel’

Tuesday, July 10, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Start date of cross-border program up in the air

Thursday, July 12, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Lack of votes doesn’t dissuade hot fuel hopefuls

Monday, July 16, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Pennsylvania lawmakers to vote on funding, tolls

Tuesday, July 17, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Pennsylvania lawmakers OK transportation funding

Wednesday, July 18, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: PA transportation bill OK’d; I-80 toll bill pending

Thursday, July 19, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: PA governor signs bill that includes I-80 tolling

Tuesday, July 24, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Court tosses 34-hour restart, 11-hour driving limit

Tuesday, July 24, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Amendment seeks to cut cross-border program funds

Wednesday, July 25, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: House OKs measure to cut cross-border funding

June

Thursday, June 07, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: U.S. House report validates ‘hot fuel’ rip-off

Friday, June 08, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: DOT presses forward with cross-border program

Tuesday, June 12, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Texas tolling bill with moratorium now law

Monday, June 25, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Audit of cross-border program begins

Monday, June 25, 2007
LAWSUIT UPDATE: Judge rules in favor of drivers in C.R. England case

Friday, June 29, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA shines light on inequity in cross-border program

May

Tuesday, May 01, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Cross-border program delayed at least 30 days

Wednesday, May 02, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Cross-border program faces tough, new challenge

Wednesday, May 02, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA announces $8 million class-action settlement

Thursday, May 03, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: FMCSA seeks comments on cross-border program

Tuesday, May 08, 2007
ON THE SCENE: Townspeople, truckers still reeling from tornado

Wednesday, May 09, 2007
ON THE SCENE: Residents of Greensburg resilient

Thursday, May 10, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Provision to limit cross-border program still alive

Thursday, May 10, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Texas governor threatens special session on toll roads

Friday, May 11, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: House OKs provision limiting cross-border program

Monday, May 14, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: House to vote on bill limiting cross-border program

Monday, May 14, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Lawmakers pursue accord on TX toll road bill

Tuesday, May 15, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: House passes bill slowing cross-border program

Tuesday, May 15, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Toll road bill nears passage in Texas

Thursday, May 17, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Shot fired across bow of public-private partnerships

Thursday, May 17, 2007
LAWSUIT UPDATE: Truckers appeal in case against DAC Services

Thursday, May 24, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Pilot program restrictions expected to pass Congress

Friday, May 25, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Congress OKs restrictions on cross-border program

Friday, May 25, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Truckers claim victory in pilot program shutdown

Tuesday, May 29, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Cross-border program restrictions signed into law

April

Friday, April 06, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Illinois Senate approves end to split speed limit

Friday, April 13, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: World tensions expected to keep fuel prices high

Friday, April 13, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: TSA official says TWIC will likely miss deadline

Friday, April 13, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA rep testifies at FDA hearing on food safety

Tuesday, April 17, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Oregon bill would widen gap between car and truck speeds

Wednesday, April 18, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Nevada bill would add weight-distance tax for trucks

Monday, April 23, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Cross-border program on Mexican Senate agenda

Tuesday, April 24, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA seeks injunction of cross-border program

Wednesday, April 25, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Effort to slow cross-border trucking still intact

Wednesday, April 25, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Mexican Senate votes to stall cross-border program

Thursday, April 26, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Cross-border provision heading to president’s desk

Monday, April 30, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Feds to publish cross-border program ‘description’

March

Tuesday, March 06, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA, BTT announce $6.25 million settlement

Monday, March 12, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA membership tops 150,000

Thursday, March 15, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: More and more hurdles for Mexican truck program

Friday, March 23, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Measure would delay Mexican trucks’ entry into U.S.

Monday, March 26, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Effort to slow pilot program on Senate agenda

Wednesday, March 28, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Mexican carriers want out of pilot program

Thursday, March 29, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Bill outlines pilot program safety, security measures

Friday, March 30, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Boyda bill aims to rein in DOT's ‘mad rush’

February

Tuesday, February 06, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Bush budget proposal short on highways, long on privatization

Friday, February 09, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: New coalition calls privatization ‘pawn-shop mentality’

Tuesday, February 13, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Public-private partnerships hammered in congressional hearing

Wednesday, February 21, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Carnahan bill seeks to limit background check fees

Thursday, February 22, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Border opening to Mexican-domiciled trucks

Friday, February 23, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Cross-border plan sets off reactions in DC

Friday, February 23, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Border opening about two months away

January

Wednesday, January 03, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: TWIC enrollment begins in March

Monday, January 08, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: U.S. DOT urges privatization of highways, infrastructure

Wednesday, January 10, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA to GAO - some boneheaded stuff going on

Thursday, January 11, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: ‘Bad actors’ could face mandatory EOBRs

Friday, January 12, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA says feds missed mark with EOBR proposal

Thursday, January 18, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Feds seek comments on EOBR proposal

Sunday, January 21, 2007
INDUSTRY NEWS: Swift bought in all-cash transaction

Friday, January 26, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: Agencies seek comments on speed limiter petitions

Monday, January 29, 2007
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA criticizes feds for considering speed limiters

July Digital Edition