2008 Special Reports Archive

December
Monday, December 01, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Medical certificates now required in licensing process
Thursday, December 04, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA says Pennsylvania toll increases will hurt truckers
Wednesday, December 10, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Ontario lawmaker questions rationale behind speed limiters
Friday, December 12, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: CARB clamps down on trucking in California
Tuesday, December 16, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: New reg tackles intermodal equipment safety issues
Tuesday, December 16, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: FMCSA names 16 deadly sins for new entrants
Wednesday, December 17, 2008
ON THE SCENE: Truckin’ with gas, natural gas that is
November
Tuesday, November 04, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA says Quebec reneged on speed limiter pledge
Monday, November 10, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: New York revises truck ban plan after feds weigh in
Tuesday, November 11, 2008
VETERANS DAY TRIBUTE PART 1: OOIDA member urges others to never forget
Tuesday, November 11, 2008
VETERANS DAY TRIBUTE PART 2: OOIDA member pushes for veterans’ center
Thursday, November 13, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Mandated observation of urine tests to remain on hold
Tuesday, November 18, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: No changes to HOS, 11th hour and 34-hour restart stay
Wednesday, November 19, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA says 2010 engine standard needs hard look
Friday, November 21, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA to meet with Obama’s transition team
Wednesday, November 26, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Obama team hears truckers’ perspective from OOIDA
October
Thursday, October 16, 2008
TOP STORY: Remembering OOIDA’s First Lady, Mary Johnston
Wednesday, October 22, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Bee crisis – OOIDA member credited with discovery
Friday, October 24, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: CARB develops new rules for all trucking in CA
Tuesday, October 28, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Trucking failures continue at record pace
Wednesday, October 29, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Speed limiters will be mandatory Jan. 1 in Quebec
Thursday, October 30, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Ontario jumps on Jan. 1 speed limiter bandwagon
September
Friday, September 05, 2008
LAWSUIT UPDATE: OOIDA seeks rehearing of DAC appeal
Friday, September 05, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: DOT says Highway Trust Fund is broke
Tuesday, September 09, 2008
URGENT: House vote pending on cross-border program with Mexico
Wednesday, September 10, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: House votes to end cross-border program with Mexico
Thursday, September 11, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: FHWA denies Pennsylvania’s application to toll I-80
Thursday, September 11, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Senate votes to bail out Highway Trust Fund
Friday, September 12, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Federal Maritime Commission slows port truck ban?
Thursday, September 18, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA supports Baird’s bill on loans for truckers
Wednesday, September 24, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA to help award part of $50 million EPA grant
Friday, September 26, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: FMCSA extends rule suspensions for relief drivers
Monday, September 29, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Bill mandates pass-through of DOD fuel surcharges
Monday, September 29, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: L.A., Long Beach ports to accept day pass, credit cards
Tuesday, September 30, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Data flawed on Mexican truck safety reg compliance
August
Monday, August 04, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Cross-border program extended despite opposition
Monday, August 04, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Cross-border opponents not deterred by extension
Friday, August 08, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA to talk speed limiters with Canadian officials
Tuesday, August 12, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: L.A., Long Beach OK truck grants for MX carriers
Friday, August 15, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: L.A., Long Beach OK grants for Mexican carriers
Monday, August 18, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA, Canadian officials discuss speed limiters
Friday, August 22, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Fitch gives toll roads a ‘negative’ rating
Tuesday, August 26, 2008
LAWSUIT UPDATE: OOIDA leaders consider further action in DAC case
July
Tuesday, July 08, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA to challenge speed limiter law in Canada
Wednesday, July 09, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA again battles push for longer, heavier trucks
Thursday, July 10, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Sen. Dorgan takes aim at cross-border program
Thursday, July 10, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Study shows pros and cons of speed limiters
Wednesday, July 16, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: FMCSA performance criticized by Senate committee
Thursday, July 17, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Ontario Registry seeks comments on speed limiter regs
Monday, July 21, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: GAO study critical of DOT’s medical process
Friday, July 25, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: House questions medical self-certification, GAO study
Wednesday, July 30, 2008
BREAKING NEWS: Bill calls for end of cross-border program
Wednesday, July 30, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Vote on cross-border program possible Thursday
Thursday, July 31, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: House committee votes to end cross-border program
June
Monday, June 02, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Hearing set for Thursday on Ontario speed limiters
Tuesday, June 03, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Speculation blamed for one-third of fuel prices
Thursday, June 05, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Testimony flows at Ontario speed limiter hearing
Friday, June 06, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Ontario extends comment period on speed limiters
Thursday, June 12, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Ontario government fast-tracking speed-limiter bill
Monday, June 16, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Speed limiter bill passes in Ontario
Wednesday, June 25, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Feds tighten up drug testing policies
Wednesday, June 25, 2008
FROM THE EDITOR’S DESK: Federal ‘suggestion’ slowly gaining some traction
May
Thursday, May 01, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Rep. Petri introduces TRUCC Act in the House
Friday, May 02, 2008
LAWSUIT UPDATE: Allied/North American offer $1.25 million settlement
Tuesday, May 06, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Truckers need help ‘soon’ OOIDA tells Congress
Wednesday, May 07, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Fuel surcharge legislation moving in House, Senate
Wednesday, May 14, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Congress approves bills to stop oil diversion to SPR
Thursday, May 15, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: ‘Let the people speak’ on Ontario speed limiters
Tuesday, May 20, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Senators want truck weights kept at 80,000 pounds
Wednesday, May 21, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: GAO says drug testing system needs work
Friday, May 23, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: DeFazio widens fuel surcharge net
Tuesday, May 27, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: NJ lawmakers consider split speeds, speed limiters
April
Tuesday, April 08, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: EPA taking applications for retrofit grants
Tuesday, April 22, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Trucking industry takes big hit in first quarter
Wednesday, April 23, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Senator seeks temporary reduction in diesel tax
Thursday, April 24, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Bill seeks to end fuel surcharge skimming
Friday, April 25, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Truckers encouraged to rally around TRUCC Act
March
Thursday, March 06, 2008
ROAD BUZZ: Feds remain silent on raid of Swift driving school
Friday, March 07, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Cross-border program to be extended?
Monday, March 10, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: DOT attempts defense of cross-border program
Monday, March 10, 2008
ACT NOW: March 17 is deadline to file comments on HOS regs
Tuesday, March 11, 2008
HOT TOPIC: Cross-border program under microscope
Monday, March 17, 2008
ACT NOW: Today is deadline to file comments on HOS regs
Tuesday, March 18, 2008
CASE UPDATE: Truckers granted class status on lumping coercion claim
Tuesday, March 18, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA official to deliver comments to port officials
Wednesday, March 19, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Speed limiter bill introduced in province of Ontario
Thursday, March 20, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: L.A. OKs port plan; long-haulers reassured
Monday, March 24, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: FMCSA extends driver training comment deadline
Monday, March 24, 2008
BREAKING NEWS: DOJ approves XM-Sirius merger
Thursday, March 27, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Shutdown talk heats up; OOIDA flooded with calls
February
Friday, February 08, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Comments on HOS regs due by Feb. 15
Monday, February 11, 2008
OOIDA NEWS: Association names Don Rondeau as security advisor
Tuesday, February 12, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA argues legality of cross-border program
Thursday, February 14, 2008
DRIVER ALERT: CA issues $800 fines for missing engine stickers
Friday, February 15, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: HOS comment period extended to March 17
Friday, February 22, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Comments sought on HOS, driver training
January
Tuesday, January 08, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Corzine says toll hikes necessary to pay debts
Tuesday, January 15, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Panel recommends federal fuel tax increases
Wednesday, January 16, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Fuel tax proposal on tap for House hearing
Thursday, January 17, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: Transportation reform has a price
Friday, January 25, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: DC Circuit Court leaves HOS alone
Thursday, January 31, 2008
SPECIAL REPORT: OOIDA urges Bush to act to ease fuel prices